Praying to Satan

One of my daily practices is offering prayers to Satan. I think there are two important factors to understand concerning prayer to Satan: (1) the nature of prayer, and (2) the expected results of prayer.

First, what is prayer? For me, in relation to Satan, prayer is dialogue/conversation. I pray to my Father because I love Him and respect Him, and I want to be in relationship with Him. In my experience, it is more akin to conversation than incantation. I usually do not follow written prayers, though they may be useful (especially if written by more experienced Satanists). I prefer, rather, to speak to Satan extemporaneously. This is more natural, more like a conversation.

Second, what do I expect when I pray to Satan? Prayers to Satan are not wish-lists to be fulfilled. Satan is not a cosmic Santa Claus. He is a god, and should be venerated as such. However, our Father is also “father-like.” That’s why we call Him Father. He wants to provide for His children. When I pray to Satan, I often begin by telling Him the extent of my love and devotion for Him. I clarify that I am His willing servant, offering my talents and services to fulfill His mission on Earth. In addition, though, I also request things I need or desire. As worshipers of our Father, we should not be afraid to do so. He is concerned with our well-being.

I sincerely believe every committed theistic Satanist should pray regularly to our Father. We can also pray to individual demons we have committed ourselves to. This is simply a way to consciously keep the lines of communication open, and to establish solid relationships with the gods we work with. Hail Satan!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

